The Iron Man and the Iron Lady

It’s election day. How strange, I’ve somehow been reminded of a book from childhood, read to my class with much enthusiasm in the Eighties. In my mind The Iron Man was my dad, or those fellas off Boys from the Blackstuff. The farmers played themselves and The Space Dragon was Margaret Thatcher. I had confused a few metaphors and ideologies, in my little Red mind. Ted Hughes was in fact describing environmentalism. As it happens, I’m glad I was wrong, I wouldn’t have enjoyed her ladyship, ‘space-bat-angel-dragon’, singing from the heavens for all eternity.

Leave a Reply

